What Do You Want To Be?

As I draw closer to graduating college, I find myself looking into the past almost as much as I peer into my future. I think about the dreams, goals, hard work and other moments in my life that continue to mold me into who I am today.

There is a sad reality that I have come to realize and unfortunately accept. As a child, I, along with many others, was asked: “What do you want to be when you grow up?” The answers were usually pretty out there; there were zero restrictions on what I could become. However, as I grew older, I found that this question isn’t a good one to ask children anymore.

I believe this because, life is no longer about going out and pursuing what you want. It’s about what you can get that will allow you to survive. Jobs are scarce and I can recount numerous times in which my friends, family members or other random people I knew have been strayed away from their true passions because the “job market is scarce” for their desired profession. How sad is it that we can no longer go after our dreams without worrying about whether that dream will provide food, shelter, and the basic needs of any individual?

Image via ndambassador

Looking back, I wonder if I did enough; did I participate in enough extra-curricular activities? Did I work hard enough to be considered a good candidate for a job? These couple of questions are just a small portion of the things that run through my mind sometimes as I grow older.

Leave a Reply

